Category Archives: 9 Schools of the Bujinkan

9 schools of the bujinkan

The 9 Schools of the Bujinkan are taught as a Koryū of budo taijutsu. The 9 schools make up the Bujinkan or Divine Warrior House, an organization founded by Soke Masaaki Hatsumi in 1974 and taught to him by Toshitsugu Takamatsu. These schools are taught by Shihan all over the world who travel to Japan to learn from Soke Hatsumi and his instructors.

Bujinkan Budō Taijutsu, the esteemed organization, serves as the authoritative source for an all-encompassing combat system. Within its domain lie nine distinct and revered ryūha, or schools, each playing an integral role in shaping the mastery of martial arts. It is widely acclaimed for its deep-rooted connection to the intricate art of ninjutsu, which is steeped in a rich history spanning an awe-inspiring expanse of over 900 years.

Heart of the 9 Schools

The illustrious heritage of Bujinkan Budō Taijutsu draws upon the profound wisdom amassed by samurai schools specializing in the meticulous craft of samurai martial tactics. Furthermore, it encompasses the unparalleled expertise fostered by ninjutsu schools, which have forged their foundations upon the indomitable and ingenious ninja tactics. These two distinct lineages interweave, creating a symphony of combat knowledge that stands as a testament to centuries of unparalleled excellence.

Comprising three esteemed shinobi schools and six venerable bushi traditions, the nine schools within the Bujinkan system embody the epitome of martial prowess. Each school possesses an inimitable collection of philosophies, strategies, and methodologies, serving as a testament to the profound diversity and depth of this formidable combat system.


The shinobi schools, shrouded in secrecy and revered for their clandestine arts, epitomize the very essence of covert operations and elusive warfare. Delving into the realms of infiltration, espionage, and unorthodox strategies, these schools equip practitioners with the skills to operate unseen and strike with surgical precision.


Contrastingly, the bushi traditions within the Bujinkan system epitomize the virtues and principles intrinsic to the samurai code. Honoring discipline, honor, and unwavering loyalty, these schools accentuate the artistry of swordsmanship, archery, and unarmed combat. They embody the pinnacle of courage, imparting the values of moral conduct and unwavering commitment to the path of the warrior.

Through the harmonious fusion of these time-honored shinobi and samurai lineages, Bujinkan Budō Taijutsu empowers individuals to embark on a profound journey of martial enlightenment. Its indomitable legacy preserves the esoteric wisdom of ancient martial arts, offering a sacred bridge to the past while forging an indomitable path into the future.


  • Togakure Ryu Ninpo – Hidden Door School – 34th Grandmaster
  • Gyokko Ryu Kosshijutsu – Jewel Tiger School – 28th Grandmaster
  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu – Immovable Heart School – 26th Grandmaster
  • Kukishinden Ryu Happo Hikenjutsu – Nine Demon Gods School – 26th Grandmaster
  • Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo – Jeweled Heart School – 21st Grandmasterer
  • Koto Ryu Koppojutsu – Tiger Knocking Down School – 18th Grandmaster
  • Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu – High Tree, Raised Heart School – 17th Grandmaster
  • Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu – Truth, Loyalty & Justice School – 15th Grandmaster
  • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo – Hiding in the Clouds School – 14th Grandmaster

9 Schools of Bujinkan: Gikan Ryū Koppōjutsu


Gikan Ryū is a Japanese martial art and one of the 9 Schools of the Bujinkan utilizing Koppō Jutsu (bone-breaking techniques). Like many of the ryū of 5 centuries ago, information is incomplete, missing and encrypted. There is however, enough historical information and current affirmation to trust it’s validity. History of Gikan Ryū 流鑑義 Gikan […]

9 Schools of Bujinkan: Gyokko Ryū Kosshijutsu

gyokko ryu kosshijutsu

Gyokko Ryū Kosshijutsu (玉虎流骨指術), is another of the 9 Schools of the Bujinkan. It is one of the nine ryū (schools) taught to the current grandmaster of Togakure Ryū, Masaaki Hatsumi by Takamatsu Toshitsugu. It is one of the oldest documented forms of martial arts in Japan and forms the backbone for all Japanese styles. It’s specialty […]

9 Schools of Bujinkan: Kukishinden Ryū

kukishinden ryu

Kukishin Ryū (九鬼神流) or Kukishinden Ryû is a Japanese martial arts system translated as the nine demons school. It is one of the nine ryū (schools) taught to current grandmaster of Togakure Ryū, Masaaki Hatsumi by Takamatsu Toshitsugu. Upon closer inspection of the name ku (nine), ki (oni or demon, older translations meaning Oni-gami (holy spirit)), […]